I, Madman (1989)

Virginia is thrust into a world of murder and mayhem where the lines of fantasy and reality begin to blur as she gets deeper and deeper into a chilling new novel: I, Madman. What she doesn't realize is that the further she reads, the closer she comes to bringing the nefarious Dr. Alan Kessler to life! Tibor Takács tells this thrilling tale of mystery and suspense with a sharp wit and a classy sense of style. Takács dresses the film in the same lavish colors and stylized characters that you would find in your average pulp fiction magazine from the 40's and 50's, but mixes in the dark, suffocating mood of a Film Noir. The subtle shift in surroundings as Virginia slips in and out of her own fantasy world are gradual enough that we, the viewers, have trouble deciphering fact from fiction. Jenny Wright is given many opportunities to shine as she drifts between a number of different personalities that occur throughout the novel. Visual effects designer Randall William Cook also takes a playful stab at acting as our eccentric villain, whose undying love for sweet Virginia drives him to slice off his mangled facial features and replace them with those of his victims. I, MADMAN is a clever entry in the Suspense/Thriller genre that will hold a certain appeal to fans of THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA or IN THE MOUTH OF MADNESS.

Rating: 8/10.

Movies like I, MADMAN:
IN THE MOUTH OF MADNESS, THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA, OPERA, TENEBRE, SUCKER PUNCH.



Trailer:

No comments:

Post a Comment